“Elizabeth Cabalka with Yoga Expression Spirit – Tools for Authentic Living gives us a new kind of toolkit, simple, refined, effective. Part memoir and reading like a novel, her book illuminates the way to discover your deep longing.”  – Marcia Appel, Green Lotus founder and teacher, author, and former corporate executive

The countdown is on! Two weeks until Yoga Expression Spirit – Tools for Authentic Living makes its debut. I am so excited to send it out into the world. More than anything, I am wildly curious to see what you will do with this little book. You see, I learned a long time ago that the moment something I make leaves my hands, what happens thereafter is no longer my concern. When you pick up the book, you are simply holding up a mirror and what you see or feel is yours alone. I confess however that I am both honored to hold the mirror and crazy-curious to know what you see.

When Wednesdays at the Fluff ‘n’ Fold was about to go to press lo these many years ago, I reached out to someone who was an important adult in my young life, someone I held in high regard. I sent off a few chapters and eagerly awaited a response. When his call came, I was so excited to hear his voice and gushed a bit as we made our greetings. Then I asked, “So, what do you think?”

It took no more than 10 seconds before the tone changed decidedly and he began a 16 minute rant (I timed it) that included words like pathetic and condescending and amateur. His voice rose in pitch and volume as the second-hand circled the clock.

Wow.

I was initially stunned and mortified. Through some act of grace, however, I immediately knew I needed to pay attention not necessarily to all his words but to an important lesson I was learning as he verbally shredded my soon-to-be-released first book. As I hung up the phone 16 minutes later I unequivocally knew two things:

  1. Some people will like what you create, some will be indifferent and some will hate it. Nonetheless, that is none of your business. But, if you can, listen. There may be something you are to know in the feedback you receive. In my case, there was a key small edit that I made to the book that entirely changed the tone of the ending. Three little words that made all the difference. I thank him for that gem.
  2. Be careful who you give your power to as you know not how or if they will use it to harm you. Instead, tend your inner light and stand tall in who you are. Give it your best and let that be enough.

I am so grateful to that man. He taught me much. And I can tell you with not a moment of hesitation that we have not spoken since that day and I am utterly fine with that. He was not kind in any way and I prefer to hang out with kind people. But he taught me so much and I am grateful.

At the same time, I continue to be touched by and to learn from the thousands of readers from New Zealand to New Jersey who found themselves in that story, reaching out for conversation and meaningful connection. With each connection I learn something and I am grateful.  With Yoga Expression Spirit, I am once again eager for conversation, connection and learning.

Thank you so much for your continued friendship, readership and support. You mean the world to me and I love to hear from you. While I do hope you like the book, I know some will and some won’t. Please know that it comes from my heart and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yoga Expression Spirit – Tools for Authentic Living will be available on Amazon November 22, 2016 in print and Kindle. (A perfect holiday gift for that dear friend or family member.)

front-cover-images-as-jpeg

 

 

Leave a Reply

